Some SweetWater Board Members and supporters are pictured here with the special 15th anniversary cake.
Some SweetWater Board Members and supporters are pictured here with the special 15th anniversary cake.

SweetWater Celebrates Past Year's Successes and Marks 15th Anniversary


March 16, 2018


The SweetWater Music Festival  2018 Annual General Meeting celebrated several successes over the past year but also looked forward to the year ahead. The Festival will mark its 15th anniversary in 2018.


“It’s a milestone to celebrate,” said Colleen Purdon, Board Chair, as she presented her annual report at the Harmony Centre in Owen Sound. “We’re already busy with preparations for an amazing Festival Weekend in September.”


A special anniversary cake, adorned with a single, brightly-lit candle, was enjoyed by all at the conclusion of the Annual General Meeting.


Colleen emphasized SweetWater in 2017 focused on strengthening “the foundations and structures that will carry SweetWater forward as a mature, exciting, respected and financially secure organization in 2018 and beyond.” She noted the development of a new three-year strategic plan (2018-2020) as a major initiative over the past year as well as the creation of SweetWater’s new branding and logo. Colleen also noted SweetWater’s strong financial position thanks to increased donations, sponsorships, and ticket revenues.


Artistic Director Mark Fewer also noted successes on the artistic side in his annual report.

“Our list of guest artists continues to expand, with new faces and new creative ideas being given space for musical exploration alongside world-class performances of standard repertoire. As is often the case, our guest artists are surprised by the eagerness of our audiences to listen in the engaged way that they do.”


During the Annual General Meeting, reports were also provided by the Treasurer and the Festival Manager. The meeting concluded with the election of Board Directors. Shawna Macivor was re-elected for a second, two-year term. Other Board Directors are serving the second year of two-year terms. Treasurer Bob Scheifele is leaving the Board and was thanked for his contributions. This Board vacancy will be filled in the spring.


The Board also confirmed Executive Officers for the coming year. Colleen Purdon will continue as Chair, Shawna Macivor will once again be Secretary, and Jill Willington will take on the role of Treasurer. Directors-at-Large for the coming year are Lynda Montgomery, Sydney Misener, and Jackie Mersich


To find out more about the past year, reports from the Chair, Artistic Director, Festival Manager, and Treasurer are available to download. 

Annual Report from Board Chair Colleen Purdon
Adobe Acrobat Document 211.5 KB
Annual Report from Artistic Director Mark Fewer
Adobe Acrobat Document 45.1 KB
Annual Report from Festival Manager Paul Eichhorn
Manager's Report 2018 SweetWater AGM.pdf
Adobe Acrobat Document 77.1 KB
Financial Update (fiscal 2017) from Treasurer
SweetWater Music Festival Financial Stat
Adobe Acrobat Document 3.6 MB